What You Need to Know Before You Renew Your 2019 Utah Nursing License
As you practice in Utah, it is important that you keep up with your continuing education for nurses. Registered Nurses licenses expire on January 31 of odd years and Licensed Practical Nurses licenses expire on January 31 of even years. As we approach the renewal deadline for RNs, it is important to note that there are multiple routes to demonstrating continued competency. According to the Utah Board of Nursing, during the past 2 years, you must have completed licensed practice for at least 400 hours or licensed practice for at least 200 hours and completed 15 hours of approved continuing education or completed 30 hours of approved continuing education. In other words, RNs and LPNs in Utah require either 15 or 30 hours of continuing education, depending on the number of hours worked. If you are an APRN choosing this route, you must have 30 hours of CE and 400 hours of practice.
It is important to note that on December 3, 2018, Utah lawmakers passed and enacted House Bill 3001: Utah Medical Cannabis Act that will allow APRNs to register with the Department of Health to prescribe medical cannabis. They must complete 4 hours of approved CE in order to register and then 4 hours every 2 years to maintain the registration. While this law was enacted, it must first become "operationalized" by the Department of Health before it can become a requirement that APRNs must meet. This is currently scheduled for March 1, 2020 but we will keep an out eye for any updates in case it goes live sooner.
Take our free nursing ceus so you can begin your licensing renewal today.