what-are-floridas-nursing-ce-requirements

What Are Florida's Nursing CE Requirements?

Cynira Clay - 03/18/19

What Are Florida's Nursing CE Requirements?

Many states in the U.S. require a certain number of contact hours for license renewal. As a RN and LPN in Florida, you are required to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years. If you are a NP, you are required to complete 27 CE hours every 2 years.

There are various state required courses that you must complete depending on your current renewal cycle. For example, as a RN and LPN:

  • You are required to complete 24 CE hours every 2 years including 2 hours for Medical Errors, 2 hours for Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace and 2 hours for Florida Laws and Rules. 
  • Prior to your first renewal period, you are also required to complete 1 hour for HIV/AIDS training. 
  • In addition to this, for every third renewal, you must complete 2 additional hours of domestic violence CE for a total of 26 hours (during every third renewal). 

 As a NP:

  • You are required to complete 27 CE hours every 2 years including 2 hours for Medical Errors, 2 hours for Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace, 2 hours for Florida Laws and Rules and 3 hours for Prescription of Controlled Substances. 
  • Prior to your first renewal period, you are also required to complete 1 hour for HIV/AIDS training. 
  • In addition to this, for every third renewal, you must complete 2 additional hours of domestic violence CE for a total of 29 hours (during every third renewal). 

Check out these courses to meet your Florida CE requirements:

You can get started by creating a free account on NursingCE.com to complete your Florida Nursing CEU requirements. You can review all of our courses and assessments on your laptop or mobile device.